To Vienna! And a small food adventure

Landed in Vienna.  It was a tough day, and we were looking at a bust trip to the apartement, so we made an executive decision, and took a taxi to the AirBnb.  Best idea ever.  Cost maybe 10 euros more.. but worth every penny.  While K and the kids unpacked, I ran to the grocery store for provisions.

I wanted a nice red wine. I should have known that the organic red wine in the cooler (with no cork). Organic and just 5.40 a liter.  I didn’t know all the words on the label, but as part of my German experience, I have learned “rot wein” means “red wine”.  If it sucked, I’d use it for cooking.  It was weird that the bottle had a foil wrapper around the top, but no cork.. but maybe that was why it was cheap.

Everywhere we go, we can get mostly the same food. But we do like to try and add local food into our diets too.  Little did I know that this bottle of wine was entering a local seasonal delicacy.

I admit, I didn’t notice the name of the wine type.  This type of wine is called Sturm.  Like Storm.  It is a fast fermented wine. It can be sold at 4%, but depending on its age, can get above 10%. It tastes like sparkling grape juice (which is where things can get dangerous).  It is only available in September/October.  It tasted REALLY good in the sautéed Kale.  But also very good in a glass

IMG_20151001_214751413

and so our cultural understanding grows even more.

Leave a comment